IEEE eScience 2018

The fourteenth IEEE eScience Conference will be held in Amsterdam, The Netherlands from 29 October – 1 November 2018. The conference brings together leading international researchers and research software engineers from all disciplines to present and discuss how digital technology impacts scientific practice. eScience promotes innovation in collaborative, computationally- or data-intensive research across all disciplines, throughout the research lifecycle.

We invite researchers to submit their:

  •  state-of-the-art computer science work and demonstrate its application in one or more scientific disciplines
  •  research that shows the impact of digital technology on any scientific discipline (not excluding the disciplines covered in the focused sessions)

Disciplines include, but are not limited to: life sciences, health research, forensic science, humanities, social sciences, physics, astronomy, climate, environmental science, and earth science. Digital technologies include, but are not limited to: machine learning, natural language processing, real time data analysis, inter-operability and linked data, multi-scale and multi model simulations, high performance computing, workflow technologies, visualization, and image processing.

Researchers can submit:

  • A full paper to be eligible for an oral presentation. Accepted oral presentations will be assigned to one of the general eScience sessions on either the multi-track day or the single track days.
  • A one-page abstract to be eligible for a poster presentation on Wednesday.

Both full papers and abstracts are peer reviewed and if accepted published in the conference proceedings. Rejected full papers will be considered for a poster presentation.

It is a requirement that at least one author of each accepted paper or abstract attends the conference.


Key Dates

Abstract submission deadline: Monday June 18 23:59 (AoE)

Full paper submission deadline: Monday June 18 23:59 (AoE)

Notification of acceptance: Wednesday 15 August 2018

Early bird registration deadline: Friday 31 August 2018

Camera-ready papers: Monday 17 September 2018

IEEE eScience Conference: Monday 29 October – Thursday 1 November 2018


Submission guidelines

Authors are invited to submit full conference papers (up to 10 pages excl. references) for an oral presentation using the IEEE 8.5 × 11 manuscript guidelines: double-column text using single-spaced 10-point font on 8.5 × 11 inch pages. Templates are available from

Authors are invited to submit a one-page abstract for a poster presentation using the same template, but limited to one page including figures and tables, excluding references.

Contributions should be submitted in PDF format to easychair:


Please look at the conference website for the most up to date information on the conference:




General Chair

Wilco Hazeleger (Netherlands eScience Center, The Netherlands)


Program Chairs

Rob van Nieuwpoort (University of Amsterdam, Netherlands eScience Center, The Netherlands)

Adriënne Mendrik (Netherlands eScience Center, The Netherlands


Publication Chairs

Raül Sirvent Pardell (Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain)

Ben van Werkhoven (Netherlands eScience Center, The Netherlands)


Program Committee

Ioannis Athanasiadis (Wageningen University & Research, The Netherlands)

Dragana Bajovic (University of Novi Sad, Serbia)

Henri Bal (VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands)

Lorenzo Blasi (Hewlett Packard Italiana, Italy)

Julita Corbalán (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain)

Oscar Corcho (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain)

Ewa Deelman (University of Southern California, United States)

Jean-Christophe Deprez (CETIC, Belgium )

Karim Djemame (University of Leeds, United Kingdom)

Antske Fokkens (VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands)

Raúl Garcia (CaixaBank, Spain)

Vladimir Getov (University of Westminster, United Kingdom)

Iñigo Goiri (Microsoft Research, United States)

Paul Groth (Elsevier Labs, The Netherlands)

Jordi Guitart (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain)

Daniel Halperin (Google inc.)

James Hetherington (University College Londen / Alan Turing Institute, United Kingdom)

Vincent Hindriksen (Stream HPC, The Netherlands)

Sverker Holmgren (Uppsala University, Sweden)

Sotiris Ioannidis (Foundation for Research and Technology (FORTH), Greece)

Shantenu Jha (Brookhaven National Laboratory / Rutgers University, United States)

Martin Juckes (STFC, United Kingdom)

Odej Kao (Technische Universität Berlin, Germany)

Daniel S. Katz (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, United States)

Bastian Koller (High Performance Computing Center Stuttgart (HLRS), Germany)

Dieter Kranzlmuller (LMU, Munchen)

Bryan Lawrence (Reading University, United Kingdom)

Daniele Lezzi (Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain)

Eric Lindahl (KTH, Sweden)

Erik Meijering (Erasmus MC, The Netherlands)

Adriënne Mendrik (Netherlands eScience Center, The Netherlands)

José Moreira (University of Aveiro, Portugal)

Rob van Nieuwpoort (Netherlands eScience Center, The Netherlands)

Ariel Oleksiak (Poznań Supercomputing and Networking Center, Poland)

Aske Plaat (LIACS, The Netherlands)

Erwan Raffin (ATOS / BULL, France)

Ivan Rodero (Rutgers University, United States)

Gemma Roig (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States)

Rizos Sakellariou (University of Manchester, United Kingdom)

Olivier Salvado (CSIRO, Australia)

Dorothea Samtleben (Leiden University, The Netherlands)

Martin Schultz (Jülich Forshungszentrum, Germany)

Ben Stappers (University of Manchester, United Kingdom)

Marius Staring LUMC, The Netherlands)

Pedro Valero (Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain)

Malte Vogl (Max Planck Institute for the History of Science,  Germany)

David Wallom (Oxford eResearch Centre, United Kingdom)

Paul Watson (Newcastle University, United Kingdom)

Ben van Werkhoven (Netherlands eScience Center, The Netherlands)

Michael Wilde (Parallel Works, United States)

Wolfgang Ziegler (Fraunhofer SCAI, Germany)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *